groundhog day app attack

Miss me? I know *I* did!

I’m holding annoyingly true to my promise to not go App Crazy in 2011 – I finished out January with $25 worth of credit still left in my account. There are still good titles being released, but I’m a lot more stringent about what I buy. My wallet appreciates it, even if it sadly gives me little to write about on here.

There’ve been a few titles that have utterly captivated me (as in, pulled me away from Dungeon Raid for more than 2 seconds at a time), and they’re worth a look if you’re in the market for new games to play:

Grim Joggers

Device: All
Genre: Death Race in the Jungle!
Price: $0.99 (launch price, 50% off)

15 joggers go for a run in some ridiculously hazardous terrain. How far can you go before all your joggers meet an untimely, bloody demise? Grim Joggers is hilarious and great for a quick game when you’ve got some time to kill (no pun intended). I found myself laughing manically as my runners died in horrible ways – serves them right for jogging, anyway. Who do they think they are? Exercising is for jerks.  Good times, because all us video gamers love violence!

Battlehearts

Device: All
Genre: Adorable RPG
Price: $2.99

Battlehearts is one of the cutest RPGs you’ll ever see. Watch the trailer – it hooked me in and I downloaded it immediately afterward, even with the $3 price tag (that’s 6 cans of Diet Coke!). It’s challenging without being frustrating, a lot of fun, and did I mention the cuteness? The game is brought to you by the makers of OMG Pirates! and Zombieville USA, and features the same distinctive style but made cuter. It reminds me of the pirates in Lil’ Pirates, which I still miss sometimes even though I deleted the game because I refuse to be sucked into an MMO even if it’s on my phone. If you like RPGs, I highly recommend this one – totes worth it, y’all.

Banzai Blowfish

Device: All
Genre: Physics Action Puzzle
Price: $0.99 (sale price, 50% off)

Banzai Blowfish is a rescue-the-trapped puzzle game that has you, the aforementioned Banzai Blowfish, on a mission to save your friends. Use the environment to reach the target within the time limit. It reminds me a lot of games like Rolando and Soosiz; both excellent games. If you enjoyed those, you might like this title – and I’d grab it while it’s on sale; it’s not something I would have looked at for $2 but is worth the $1.

Sad Princess

Device: All
Genre: Side-scrolling RPG-esq fighting game
Price: $1.99

I really want to like this game, but it’s been done a thousand times before and much better. Still, the artwork is great and the storyline goes to show that even imaginary princesses aren’t safe from the heartbreak of fickle romance. If you only buy one RPG today I’d say pass this up and get Battleheart instead, but if you’ve got $2 to spare and a soft spot for emo princesses with magical powers and a wounded ego, this one’s for you. Beware the In App Purchases – they’re not necessary to play, but are there if you have too much money and don’t know what to do with yourself.

Game Dev Story

Device: All
Genre: Game Company Simulator
Price: $0.99 (sale, 75% off)

Perennial favourite Game Dev Story is on sale again. This is what I had to say last time: When Game Dev Story came out, I grabbed it even though the $4 price tag was hard to swallow. I then immediately mysteriously lost several weeks of my life – when I looked up again, it was a month later and I had no idea where I was. This game is simple but INSANELY ADDICTING, and now that it’s on sale for a dollar, you absolutely need to pick it up. Ever wanted to work in the game industry but they hate you and won’t look your way no matter what you do? Live your fantasy life here, and make highly rated games with terrible dirty names for fun and fake profit!

One response to this post.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nathan Wainwright, Kimli. Kimli said: groundhog day app attack: http://wp.me/pZDhl-cV […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

