well, i’m poor now – SO MANY APPS

I hate it when they release a metric assload of awesome games all at once – I just spent like $30 on the iTunes store.

First, the freebies:

Inception

Device: All
Genre: dream time wtf
Price: Free

I was sort of hoping this app would explain what Inception was all about, but instead it’s a really cool and trippy ambient noise app meant to put you into dream layers. Yeah, I don’t know either – but it’s still pretty neat and the sounds are crazy. It’s a very interesting idea, and since it’s free, it won’t hurt you to take a look. No, really. No altered realities here, promise.

Hero Project

Device: All
Genre: Superhero MMO
Price: Free

This is a superhero MMO kind of like City of Heroes – make your hero, save the world, etc etc. Glu is responsible for some pretty cool games, which is the only reason I’m checking this out. It’s installing now – along with the rest of the iTunes store – but hey, free. The price is right, considering I am now going to have to eat my cats.

Ocarina

Device: All
Genre: Tootling flute times!
Price: Free (sale)

Admit it – you’ve always wanted to tootle a flootle on your iDevice. Tris pointed me in the direction of this app, which is free for the next two days. Play it like a flute! Who knows – perhaps a magic door will open somewhere and you’ll find a princess and a giant bag of rupees. If nothing else though, you can tootle your way through “Mary Had a Little Lamb” at a bar and possibly get some tail. For free! You can thank me (or Tris, since it was his find) later.

Okay – enough free stuff; it’s time to break the bank.

Vikings Can Fly

Device: All
Genre: Aerodynamic Viking Love!
Price: $0.99 (launch price?)

I have a sneaking suspicion that vikings are the next pirate/ninja/zombie obsession – but if all viking-themed apps come out like this one, the world will be a better place for it. I’ve rarely been as instantly charmed by a game as I was by this one – picked up on a whim this morning, it has a fricking awesome soundtrack, great graphics, and an utterly ridiculous premise that makes me giggle as I rock out to the melodic viking rock n’ roll. If you grab one new game today because of my recommendation, I urge you to check this one out – I’m kind of in love with it. Go viking go!

A Moon For the Sky

Device: All
Genre: Moon go up!
Price: $0.99 (launch price?)

This is a really cute bouncing game that reminds me of a DS game that I totally can’t place at the moment. Draw a launch pad for your moon, and get it as high up in the sky as you can. Collect stars and power ups along the way, and enjoy the ride – this is a pretty little game with a neat story, and doesn’t seem to have any zombies or angry birds in it at all which is a total novelty. Worth a look if you want something a little different to pass the time!

Pirates vs. Ninjas vs. Zombies vs. Pandas

Device: All
Genre: let’s fight!
Price: $0.99 (launch price?)

Even the title of this game tires me out (and I don’t know how pandas got mixed up in this mess), but I had to take a look. Check out the intro movie – it has the most improbable 4-way Mexican standoff you’ll ever see. Game wise, it’s similar to Angry Birds – but there are friendly forces you must avoid hitting while trying to take out the pirate/ninja/zombie/panda. I’m a few levels in, and I’m enjoying it so far. A clone though it may be, it’s just different enough to feel like an all new game, and it looks really good to boot – all good things. Definitely amusing enough for the dollar.

Infinity Blade

Device: All
Genre: holy shit, you’re playing this game on your PHONE
Price: $5.99 (ow)

This is a title that nerds everywhere – myself included – have been salivating over since it was announced. Infinity Blade is quite possibly the most advanced game on the iDevice – it’s meant to push the envelope, and it does that several times over. It’s jaw-droppingly gorgeous, runs on the Unreal engine, and it just fucking awesome – we loaded it up on my iPhone, then again on my iPad and it looks amazing on both. The one purchase allowed me to play it on both devices, and it runs like Rage HD does (ie: full screen and gorgeous and holy crap this is kind of incredible). It’s smooth as hell, has a made up language, and is absolutely worth the $6. Did I mention it was amazing? Holy shit. Consider the game changed.

Dungeon Hunter 2

Device: All
Genre: Diablo with fairies: the sequel
Price: $6.99 (owwwwwwwwwwwwwwww)

Dungeon Hunters was a surprise hit, so it’s only natural that a sequel would be released. There’s a great deal of hype about this game, and the pieces that were released before the actual game were tantalizing. No such luck with the multiple devices: the game runs on my iPad, but is meant for the iPhone (although to be honest, in 2x it looks better than the full screen of the first game). This follows suit with the first DH game; there were separate versions for the iBig and the iSmall at the appropriate price points. Still, it looks very promising if you’re rich – choose between three classes (warrior, rogue and mage) with different paths, and start out watching some poor sucker getting minced by a giant troll wielding a mace. Never fear, though – fairies! Yep, those’ll help. Hop to it: you have a planet to save.

Puzzle Quest 2

Device: All
Genre: Bejeweled + RPG = Puzzle Quest
Price: $9.99 (OUCH GODDAMNIT)

Before you sputter in outrage, note that I own four copies of Puzzle Quest 1. The two DS copies (one for me, one for Ed) cost $30 each; the PSP copy was purchased on sale for $20, and I think I paid $5 for the XBox Arcade version. Frankly, the option of “only” paying $10 for Puzzle Quest 2 is kind of a novel concept – and if the game holds my attention for even half the original did, it’ll be money well spent. The first Puzzle Quest game was wildly popular, and for good reason: it sucks you in like no other. The AI cheats, the game used cheap moves to kick your ass, and every second was frustrating fun. I’ve been eagerly anticipating PQ2’s launch on the app store, and even though I’m never going to be able to play all 8 awesome games I downloaded today for far too much money, I will stay awake until I get my fill. Too. Much. Fun.

Good god. Okay, after all that: what about Appmas?!

On the first day of Appmas, I’m gifting PAUL a copy of Hipstamatic. Wooooo Paul! Email me your Apple ID address, and I’ll fire it over to you!

On the second day of Appmas, I’m giving away:

Doodle God!

If you want to play one of my very favourite iSmall games, leave a comment below! I’ll draw a winner for the next Delicious Juice Dot App Blast, when I’ll gift an app for the third day of Appmas. Apps for everyone! Hooray! Also, Americans can play along – I have US iTunes credits now. GO! GO NOW!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa Moon Tait on December 9, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Wow, COOL!
    This is SO great; I just got an iPhone so I’m all dorkily new to it. And I’ve got an Internet Superstar combing iTunes for the best, must-have apps. And free stuff?! Whoohoo!!!
    Thanks, Kimli!
    Happily installing now…

    Reply

  2. Appmas! I LOVE Appmas! 🙂

    Even if PvNvZvP is a clone, they win in my book just for the name.
    I’m off to the iTunes store!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa Moon Tait on December 13, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    OOOH, YAY, me!!!
    I was so excited, I wasn’t even sure if this was one of the apps, LOL!
    Now, I’m gonna to download it… and see if I’m cool enough to figure out how the cute little thing works!

    THANKS, KimliClaus!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

