oh hai thursday

Let’s get this party started:

Fastball 2

Device: All
Genre: run/jump/avoid obstacles
Price: FREE  (originally $1.99)

Fastball 2 is a rather simplistic game that’s a clone of any running/jumping game. It would probably entertain small children well enough, but there are many other games in this genre that do the job better (Run! and Monster Dash, to name a couple). Maybe I didn’t play it long enough, but Fastball 2 seemed really watered down to me – your goal is to collect stars, but there’s no penalty if you don’t collect them all. Still, if you want a game that isn’t full of zombies and weaponry being flung at your head, this would be a good place to start (especially while free).

Inkstrumental

Device: All
Genre: what the hell is going on here (music making)
Price: FREE  (originally $2.99)

Inkstrumental is a baffling (but cute) app that allows you to make beautiful music with a variety of monsters. Choose your chorus in the audition room, choose your beat, then arrange the musical monsters to make a masterpiece of your own. You can view the performance of your music, send it to friends, or upload it directly to the YouTubes. This app is surprisingly robust, and it took me a while to figure out what I was doing. I’m still not entirely convinced I have any sort of clue how to use this properly, but I’ve been grooving to my own “music” for a while now. Definitely worth a look at!

CandyClock

Device: All
Genre: pretty video clock
Price: FREE  (originally $1.99)

Apparently life isn’t all about video games and things that will entertain me for minutes at a time. Disappointing, but I’ve decided to play along and try to find some apps that aren’t necessarily about instant gratification and instead have some sort of purpose. Enter CandyClock – a video clock app featuring moving, soothing backgrounds and alarms and other clock-like features. It looks really nice, although I wish the stripey background shown in the icon was actually an option and not just the loading screen – I like the pretty colours, okay?

AppShopper

Device: All
Genre: the latest and greatest app news
Price: FREE

I’m giving away all my secrets here, but you want to know how I know which apps are free or on sale or just launched? AppShopper is a big part of that. There are other tools I use too, but AppShopper is extremely reliable – and they just released their very own app to allow you to keep track of things on the go. You can track apps you already own, or keep a wish list of titles to be alerted when they go on sale. It’s a really useful tool .. just don’t forget about me when you use it, okay?

The Hero HD

Device: iPad
Genre: save the world, on a bigger screen
Price: $1.99 (launch price)

I liked this game on the iSmall, but found the controls a little cramped and pain-making. It’s just been released in HD for the iPad, so I picked it up and will fight to save the world from evildoers, giant spiders, and falling babies on a big silly screen. Hooray!

LabyMania

Device: All
Genre: turn the tiles, solve the maze
Price: FREE (originally $1.99)

Free for today only, LabyMania is a guide-the-bug-through-the-maze game in which you have to rotate tiles to create a clear path. The name of this app makes me do a double take, and each time I am disappointed that it has nothing to do with my vagina. Your mileage may vary, of course.

Leave a Reply

