s-a-t-u-r-d-a-y apps

Something for everyone today: a puzzle game, an RPG, a photography tool and a fun camera app.

Kodix

Device: All
Genre: Code breaking puzzler
Price: FREE (originally $0.99)

Use your brain meat to crack the code (crack crack the code) in this Mastermind-like puzzle game. Many different puzzle types with achievements and difficulty levels; made all the better with that YouTube video playing in the background. I like puzzles and pretending I’m a smart little monkey, so I grabbed this free app to hone my code-cracking skills in the hopes that I too can one day star in a Matrix-themed corporate promotional video.

StopMotion

Device: iPhone
Genre: Camera Toy
Price: $0.99 (possible launch price)

I installed this last night, and I’m REALLY looking forward to playing with it. Saying “I have a lot of toys” may be the understatement of the friggin’ century, so I plan to load a bag up with them and see if I can put together a short movie to test this tool out. I’ve always been interested in stop motion stuff (my love of Robot Chicken extends beyond Seth Green) but never had an adequate tool to mess around on my own. Now I do! Is it any good? We shall see!

Underworlds Ultimate Edition: No Seriously; It’s Nothing Like Diablo

Device: iPad
Genre
: Diablo clone
Price: FREE (originally $1.99)

Another hack n’ slash RPG for the iPad. Installing it now; looks somewhat entertaining and the price is right. Reports that the graphics aren’t the greatest, but I’m more interested in the experience – I have dozens of things that LOOK good; I just want to kill stuff.

LightTrac

Device: iPad
Genre
: Photography tool
Price: FREE (originally $5.99)

From the product description: “LightTrac is a must have tool for all outdoor photographers. You can use it to find when and where the light is perfect to shoot your subjects outdoors at any location. Whether you are a landscape photographer, a wedding photographer, a sports photographer or a nature photographer, you will love it. Find ahead of time, Sun & Moon’s elevation/angle at any time of day, for any date on any place on earth. Then position yourself at the right spot.”

Well, that sounds pretty awesome. It’s got some incredibly high ratings and love from all kinds of photographers, and for FREE you can’t really be beat – installing this one now. I’m all for anything that can keep me from being the craptastic photographer I am, so I will play with this and suddenly be amazing. Score!

Leave a Reply

