friday up your butt

Bunch of new apps today; I’m installing the lot of them for the first time:

Skate It by EA

Device: All
Genre: Sports Action; skate or die dude
Price: $0.99 (originally $4.99)
Disclaimer: I was so bad at Skate for the Xbox 360 that I actively pouted and likely won’t play this for fear of additional sulking

EA is having a big sale this weekend, and a bunch of their titles will be 80% off. Skate It is the first (to be followed by Rock Band and Mirror’s Edge; maybe others), and would be a good way to kill some time if you’re not into puzzle games or space trading. It’s also ideal if you used to be a sk8er boi but now are far too old and brittle to be doing kick flips and ollies.

Clay Gunfighters

Device: All
Genre: Western Shoot ’em Up
Price: FREE (originally $0.99)

I’m curious about this title, because “.. the graphics in this game were created using modelling clay and traditional stop-motion animation techniques”. That sounds interesting. It’s getting increasingly difficult to hold my interest these days, so if this’ll keep my attention away from my email for more than a minute or two, it gets a passing grade.

Wallace and Gromit: The Last Resort

Device: iPad
Genre: Comedy Adventure
Price: $1.99 (originally $4.99)

Fans of Wallace and Gromit will enjoy this iPad adventure, on sale to celebrate Comic Con. I’m not necessarily a huge fan of a) British comedy, b) claymation or c) not being at Comic Con, but I figured I’d mention it anyway. So, here you go. Consider it mentioned.

Sam and Max: The Penal Zone

Device: iPad
Genre: Comedy Adventure
Price: $1.99 (originally $6.99)

Another Telltale app on sale for Comic Con with outstanding reviews – I’ll pass on Wallace and Gromit, but will likely grab this for my iPad. Sam and Max have a huge cult following, and I want to see what all the fuss is about.

Finally ..

Cat Physics

Device: All
Genre: Comedy Adventure
Price: FREE (originally $0.99)

A very cute puzzle game with cats – pass the ball from one to the other, using various tools. Thanks to @alienmeatsack for the tip!

Leave a Reply

