tuesday’s apps, full of grace

Dungeon Hunter

Device: iPhone/iPod Touch
Genre: Diablo with faeries
Price: $0.99 (originally $4.99)
Disclaimer: The dungeons themselves require very little hunting

I have this game for the iPad, and it is pretty fun. It’s a Diablo clone through and through, so if you’re looking for a hack n’ slash with character classes, this is a solid one to get. It’s my go-to game when I’m lounging on the couch but not totally invested in what’s happening on the TV – I can hunt some dungeons, kill some baddies, and feel as though I’ve accomplished something when I level up and/or get new faeries. I think I splurged and paid $6.99 for the iPad app (it was the first game I bought; I wanted it to be something decent), so $.99 for the iSmall is a good deal indeed.


Wolf Boy

Device: iPhone/iPod Touch
Genre: Fighting RPG Platformer done chibi style, with a wolf
Price: $0.99 (launch price, will go up to $2.99)
Disclaimer: Don’t let the confusing genre fool you – this is one cute but awesome game

I downloaded this last night on a whim, and I’m really glad I did. Wolf Boy crams several different game types into one package, and does it surprisingly well. The game appears to be the first English offering from NHN Corp, but they’ve got the humour down pat. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the game allows you to upgrade your stats for the Wolf and the Boy separately, which adds a neat dimension to your fight sequences. Also: CUTE! Tiny angry chibi wolf boy! Vampire tomatoes for some reason!  Button mashing and combos! Total win.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Dungeon Hunter is wicked. Played it over 3 times, worth all ninety-nine pennies! Dungeon Hunter 2 is due sometime soon.

    Will check out WolfBoy. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. […] All Genre: Diablo with fairies: the sequel Price: $6.99 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

